WhatsApp is Rolling Out ”View Once”
WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature that lets users to have photos or videos disappear right after they are seen.
According to the Facebook-owned messaging app: ‘’You can now send photos and videos that disappear after they’ve been opened via View Once on WhatsApp, giving you more control over your chats privacy!’’.
More specifically, users will soon be allowed to share photos and videos in View Once mode. View Once is similar to Instagram’s expiring media feature. When you send a photo using View Once, the image will disappear once the receiver opens it and leaves the chat.
According to BBC, “WhatsApp is marketing view once as a privacy feature for regular consumers, saying it could be used for throwaway yet personal photos – when trying on clothes in a shop and asking a partner how they looked, for example, or sending someone a password”.
A couple of important points to note when using WhatsApp’s new feature, is that the photos will not be saved on your phone gallery. The media cannot be forwarded, saved, shared, or starred. And finally, the photo or video that you have sent via View Once, will be expired if not opened within 14 days.
It’s also worth mentioning, that just because the photos or video will vanish, that doesn’t prevent someone from taking a screenshot. However, Facebook says the new feature will offer users even more control over their privacy.
As Position Mobile has learned, View Once will become available to all users within the next few days.